madhya pradhes bypolls voting on 28 seats continue MP voting updates BJP congress candidates – MP bypolls: voting continues on 28 seats, who will be in power today


Apart from this, the fate of those 25 candidates will also be decided in this by-election who are contesting on the BJP ticket from the same seat they had left after resigning from the Congress legislature and joining the BJP. Most of them are supporters of Jyotiraditya Scindia, a descendant of the Gwalior royal family, who himself left the Congress and joined the BJP in March this year. Hence Scindia’s reputation is also at stake in this by-election.

By-elections are being held on 54 assembly seats in 10 states of the country on Tuesday and more than half of these seats are being held in Madhya Pradesh. Of the 28 seats for which the by-elections are to be held, 25 seats have been vacated by the resignation of Congress MLAs from BJP, while two seats are vacant by the death of Congress MLAs and one by the death of BJP MLAs. BJP has nominated all the 25 people who have resigned from the post of Congress MLA and joined the party.

What does the current assembly look like?

Let me tell you that due to the resignation of 22 Congress MLAs and joining BJP, the then Congress government of the state was reduced to a minority, due to which Kamal Nath resigned as Chief Minister on March 20. Then on 23 March, BJP government was formed in Madhya Pradesh under the leadership of Shivraj Singh Chauhan. After this, four other Congress MLAs also left the party and joined the BJP.

Out of the total 230 seats in the state assembly, BJP currently has 107 MLAs, while Congress has 87 MLAs, four independents, two BSP and one SP. The remaining 29 seats are vacant, of which bypolls are being held on 28 seats, excluding Damoh Assembly. Congress MLA Rahul Singh Lodhi joined the BJP by resigning from the membership of the Assembly and the Congress after the date of the by-election for Damoh seat was announced. After the by-election, the number of MLAs in the House will increase from the present 202 to 229. Therefore, the BJP needs to win only eight seats in this by-election to reach the magic figure of 115 of the majority, while the Congress will have to win all 28 seats.

This is the appearance of election preparations

Arun Tomar, Additional Chief Electoral Officer of the state, had said on Monday that voting will be held in 28 assembly constituencies in 19 districts of the state. The last one hour of polling will be scheduled for Kovid-19 patients and suspected patients. A total of 355 candidates, including 12 ministers of the state, are in the fray for the 28 assembly seats in the state.

Tomar said that 33,000 security personnel have been deployed in 19 districts under the by-election. Complete preparations have been made to conduct free and fair voting in the state. He informed that 250 flying squads, 173 surveillance teams and 293 police posts have been deployed in the service. He said that there are total 63.67 voters in 28 assembly seats. 9,361 polling stations have been set up for these voters. While 3,038 of these polling stations have been kept in sensitive category.

Video: Madhya Pradesh by-election: By-elections in 28 assembly seats

(This news has not been edited by the NDTV team. It is published directly from the Syndicate feed.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here