The leaders of the Persian Gulf countries agree to strengthen cooperation


DOHA (Sputnik) – The leaders of Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman, Qatar, Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates agreed to strengthen cooperation in the face of the difficult situation in the Persian Gulf region, according to a joint statement from the leaders, published after the meeting of the Gulf Cooperation Council.

"The challenges in the region have confirmed the importance of cooperation between the Gulf countries and the activation of strategic collaboration mechanisms," the statement said.

The text adds that all the necessary measures will be taken to guarantee the security of the States of the region.

The note also adds that the leaders of the six countries of the Persian Gulf intend to cooperate with "the brother and friend countries to address the existing military threats."

The statement also underscores the need to protect the sea lanes of the Gulf countries from all kinds of current threats.

The summit of the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf was held on 10 December in Riyadh.

Source link



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here